HomeHome SitemapSitemap Contact usContacts

Dixie Chicks Wide Open Spaces Country Music CD Review

Wide Open Spaces is the latest release from Dixie Chicks, and I can only think of one word to describe this CDÖ AWESOME!

Wide Open Spaces opens with an outstanding track, I Can Love You Better, that I anticipate will be heard on radio stations everywhere, and deservedly so. Itís a really nice track.

Wide Open Spaces has a nicely varied, mix of 12 tracks that are very well written and brilliantly performed songs by these clearly outstanding musicians. With many of the songs displaying a lot of the kind emotion that makes for a really great listen. Seemingly drawing from what I can only imagine are their own real life experiences. At different points touching on the most real emotions of love, heartbreak, pain, failed relationships and unattainable romance. Theyíre all here.

Overall Wide Open Spaces is an outstanding release. Quite possibly Dixie Chicks's best to date. Really sensational from beginning to end. If you're even mildly into Country music you'll enjoy this album.

While the entire album is really very good the truly standout tunes are track 1 - I Can Love You Better, track 7 - Tonight The Hearthache's On Me, and track 12 - Give It Up Or Let Me Go.

My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [...as in "Stuck On REpeat"] is Track 11 - Am I The Only One. Itís a great track!

Wide Open Spaces Release Notes:

Dixie Chicks originally released Wide Open Spaces on January 27, 1998 on the Monument Records label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. I Can Love You Better

2. Wide Open Spaces

3. Loving Arms

4. There's Your Trouble

5. You Were Mine

6. Never Say Die

7. Tonight The Heartache's On Me

8. Let 'Er Rip

9. Once You've Loved Somebody

10. I'll Take Care Of You

11. Am I The Only One (Who's Ever Felt This Way)

12. Give It Up Or Let Me Go

Dixie Chicks: Natalie Maines (vocals); Emily Erwin (vocals, dobro, banjo, acoustic guitar); Martie Seidel (vocals, fiddle, mandolin).

Additional personnel: Billy Joe Walker, Jr., Paul Worley (acoustic & electric guitars); Mark Casstevens, Billy Crain (acoustic guitar); George Marinelli, Tommy Nash (electric guitar); Lloyd Maines, Tony Paoletta (steel guitar); Matt Rollings (Hammond B-3 organ, piano); Bobby Charles, Jr., Michael Rhodes (bass); Greg Morrow (drums); Tom Roady (congas, shaker, tambourine).

All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.

Call conference

Source: www.isnare.com